2001-04-12 / Top Stories

South Shore JV Repeats As Boro Hoops Champs

South Shore JV Repeats As Boro Hoops Champs

South Shore High School's Boys Junior Varsity Brooklyn Division Basketball Champions.South Shore High School's Boys Junior Varsity Brooklyn Division Basketball Champions.

The South Shore Boys Junior Varsity Basketball team recently completed another outstanding season by capturing the Brooklyn Division Championship with a 14-2 record.

This was the second consecutive division title for the Vikings’ junior varsity squad. Over the last three seasons, South Shore’s boys JV hoops squads have compiled an impressive 48-5 record.

Coach Barry Goldsmith, in his 10th and final season as the Boys’ JV coach, stated: "It has been a pleasure to work with all these fine young men. Watching their individual talents develop into an unselfish, cohesive team, as they increase personal and team discipline, while working very hard to achieve their goal, only substantiates the role aesthetics can be in producing high achieving, productive student/athletes."

As a result, Coach Goldsmith remarked, "The New York City Board of Education must recognize these values and must support these programs financially, as well as provide uniforms, equipment and transportation."

South Shore was led by tri-captains Euland Williams (15 pts, 14 rebounds average), Dayon Mobley (10 points, 3 assists), and Anderson Labaze (10 points, 6 assists).

Outstanding first year players included Lennox Groot Foam (12 points, 7 rebounds), Mario Lang, (8 points, 5 assists), Hans Flourimont (6 points), Kendrek Etienne (7 points), Daryll Wiggins and Jamar West.

In South Shore’s last two games, which the team needed to win the division championship, Capt. Euland Williams scored a combined total of 33 points and pulled down 37 rebounds leading the Vikings to a 56-38 win over Tilden H.S. and a 59-53 victory against Boys and Girls H.S.

Other members of the team include are Brian Fisher, Sean Federick, Delano Smith, Ranaldy Grachelin, Rogers Moore and Freshman David Campbell, Lenin Perez, Fernando Prince, Odlin Suinvilus, and Tyree Gary.

Return to top

Copyright© 2000 - 2017
Canarsie Courier Publications, Inc.
All Rights Reserved